Public Sector Equality

Public Sector Equality Duty

The Public Sector Equality Duty requires our school to publish information about Equalities.

The Equality Act 2010 covers nine protected characteristics which cannot be used as a reason to treat people unfairly.

People identified in the following groups are considered to have a protected characteristic:

  • Race

  • Gender

  • Gender reassignment

  • Disability

  • Sexual orientation

  • Religion or belief

  • Age

  • Pregnancy and maternity

  • Marriage and civil partnership.


General Duties

The information we publish and analyse must be clearly linked to the three general duties of the

Public Sector Equality duty.


These aims are to :

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimization

  • Advance equality of opportunity between different groups

  • Foster good relations between different groups.


Specific Duties

  • Publish information

  • Establish Equality Objectives in the form of an Action Plan


Please click below to see a copy of our Public Sector Equality Duty statement and objectives for this year.